Eye of Dawn


  • Title: 여명의 눈동자 (黎明의 눈동자) / Yeo-myoung-eui Noon-dong-ja
  • Also known as: Years of Upheaval
  • Genre: Epic, Historical, Drama, Romance
  • Episodes: 36
  • Broadcast network: MBC
  • Broadcast period: 1991-Oct-07 to 1992-Feb-06
  • Air time: Wednesday and Thursday 21:50
  • Viewership Ratings: peak=58.4% average=42.0%


Based on a bestseller by Kim Seong Jong (1981), Eyes of Dawn is the story of three young Koreans caught in the maelstrom of the nation's modern history. Spanning from the colonial period to the Korean War, the series brought to attention such issues as Japanese war crimes (especially the existence of 'comfort women') and the tragedies wrought by Korea's ideological divisions.

User/Viewer Ratings

(0 votes)


Production Crs


  • With a cast of 270+ (as well as 27,000+ extras), location shoots in the Philippines and China (unprecedented as South Korea had yet to normalize relations with its communist neighbor), three years in the making, Eye of Dawn was a huge critical and popular success, pioneering the 'special project' template.


  • Baeksang Awards (1992): Daesang (Grand Prize), Best Drama, Best Director, Best Actor (Choi Jae Sung), Best Actress (Chae Si Ra)
  • Korean Broadcasting Awards (1992): Best Drama, Best Producer
  • Producers Association Awards (1993): Best Drama

External Links

Retrieved from -- https://wiki.d-addicts.com/Eyes_of_Dawn

This is a cache file - life of cache file is 30 days
413d3c6c5ba32b7a3aba6f699d945355 - August 9, 2020 - 10:28:30 am